Top 5 Reasons why I’m convinced I’m on the brink of a quarter-life crisis

17 Jan
  1. Realization individual actions meaningless: I like to think of this as a positive realization. I abandoned naivety  and opened my heart to the cold tentacles of cynicism.
  2. Tendency to hold stronger opinions: I admit to seeing the world as a bit more of a black and white place than it likely is. I hold fiercely to my personal morals and tend to be judgmental of others.
  3. Unrelenting indecision: Yes, yes, yes. I can’t make up my mind about anything. While sipping coffee at our favourite weekly meeting spot, I told my best friends I was planning to move to Ireland when I graduated; they laughed. And I can’t blame them. In the past few months, they’ve heard me contemplate everything from staying in Toronto, to working in the Yukon, to moving to the U.S. or Europe, and everything in between.
  4. Anxiety about working: I waver between excitement and panic when I contemplate life after school. Self-doubting thoughts run through my mind, on a loop: “I’m not as good a writer as everyone else.” “I’m not as smart as everyone else.” “I probably won’t make it.” And worst of all, “I’ll end up selling out and working in PR.”
  5. Isolation: Everyone else knows where he or she is headed. They’re moving up and on with their lives, moving to faraway lands, setting down with respective boyfriends or girlfriends or they’re happy doing what they’ve always done. And where does that leave me? Indecisive and stuck.
2 Responses to “Top 5 Reasons why I’m convinced I’m on the brink of a quarter-life crisis”

  1. michelle January 17, 2010 at 7:47 pm #

    we are the same person except you do not like chamomile tea!

  2. wanderinggrizzly January 17, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    I wouldn’t worry about #5. I’ve been out of school for about three years (yikes) and am definitely in the throes of a quarter-life crisis. Most people who I graduated with ‘knew’ where they were headed and are now in some place entirely different. My best advice for post graduation? Have fun and take risks.

Leave a Reply

