London Times

23 Dec

So, I’m sitting here sulking. (For those of you who know me, my sulking face varies only slightly from my normal face).

Why am I sulking? I’m sulking because it’s my week off before I start my new job and I have absolutely no plans. I mean zero. Zilch. I’ve been here four months and in that time have managed to acquire a smattering of semi-acquaintances and a couple possible friends. But the bottom line is that I’ve barely made any inroads socially and it’s tough, particularly at this time of year because it’s the month when all my high school friends (from wherever they are) return home to celebrate the holidays with their families. And every new year’s eve we laugh, we chat, we drink and we laugh until dawn as if no time had passed at all. You see with these people–these true friends–time is irrelevant. We could go months without talking and then pick up exactly where we left off.

And then I’m reminded of all of the amazing people in Toronto I love and miss for the unique characteristics each person brings to my life–sarcasm, positivity, wit, cheerfulness, silliness, etc. I miss those friendships that were comfortable–where I was at ease with myself and the people around me. I don’t have that here.

Let’s face it. English people aren’t the warmest. Actually, I can’t comment on the English. I can only comment on Londoners. They’re not polite–almost rude, actually, and they seem to find my accent endlessly amusing. Their favourite activity when I’m around? Listing all of the reasons why Canadians and Americans are virtually the same. I assure you that even the most easygoing person would find him or herself annoyed after putting up with a steady stream of jabbing.

Of course I have to admit my own part in this as well. I’ve never been particularly adept at making friends and my bemoaning my old friendships certainly isn’t making it any easier.

Well, that’s all for now though I promise to start regularly updating this blog on my London adventure! Perhaps I will have more positive entries in the future but no promises.So, I’m sitting here sulking. (For those of you who know me, my sulking face varies only slightly from my normal face).

Why am I sulking? I’m sulking because it’s my week off before I start my new job and I have absolutely no plans. I mean zero. Zilch. I’ve been here four months and in that time have managed to acquire a smattering of semi-acquaintances and a couple possible friends. But the bottom line is that I’ve barely made any inroads socially and it’s tough, particularly at this time of year because it’s the month when all my high school friends (from wherever they are) return home to celebrate the holidays with their families. And every new year’s eve we laugh, we chat, we drink and we laugh until dawn as if no time had passed at all. You see with these people–these true friends–time is irrelevant. We could go months without talking and then pick up exactly where we left off.

And then I’m reminded of all of the amazing people in Toronto I love and miss for the unique characteristics each person brings to my life–sarcasm, positivity, wit, cheerfulness, silliness, etc. I miss those friendships that were comfortable–where I was at ease with myself and the people around me. I don’t have that here.

Let’s face it. English people aren’t the warmest. Actually, I can’t comment on the English. I can only comment on Londoners. They’re not polite–almost rude, actually, and they seem to find my accent endlessly amusing. Their favourite activity when I’m around? Listing all of the reasons why Canadians and Americans are virtually the same. I assure you that even the most easygoing person would find him or herself annoyed after putting up with a steady stream of jabbing.

Of course I have to admit my own part in this as well. I’ve never been particularly adept at making friends and my bemoaning my old friendships certainly isn’t making it any easier.

Well, that’s all for now though I promise to start regularly updating this blog on my London adventure! Perhaps I will have more positive entries in the future but no promises.

Leave a Reply

