9 to 5

10 Jan

You know I’ve heard a lot of people complain about this lifestyle—the drudgery of the daily grind.  I see where they’re coming from. I’ve only been working properly for about a week and I’ve already pinned down my tube route, my daily walking time to said tube and my favourite lunch spots. These are the places I hope to be visiting for many months to come.  You see, while some people might reject routine, I embrace it.

I see the beauty in it. I love walking down leather lane in the mornings, as the men load their stalls with their various wares and I like seeing them load their leftovers into the trucks each evening. There’s a certain comfort that’s gained from the knowledge that these men will likely still be there years from now, loading and unloading their products day in and day out.

I know I’m not the first one to consider the elegance that exists in the simplicity and repetition of these graceful and well-learned movements.

When in Italy I had the pleasure of attending a Van Gogh exhibit where I was struck by how many times the artist used bright colours to depict the toiling of peasant farmers. By many standards their work seems boring but the eventually ear-less artist observed something engrossing about their tasks.

There’s something really lovely about reading the Financial Times every morning and a portion of my book every night, while others also read or nod off on the commute home.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I look forward to sharing many more wonderful like-days with you, fellow Londoners.

Leave a Reply

